Bob Neill Scottish Schools' HORR 2019

On Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th September, Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association played host for the second year running to the Bob Neill Scottish Schools’ Head of the River Races held on the Dee over a timed 3 kilometre course from the Victoria Bridge to the Ruthrieston Burn. On Saturday morning, ASRA won the Scottish Junior Club Fours Championship Cup in commanding fashion for the 10th year in succession, but over the three sculling races on Saturday afternoon and Sunday, despite collecting 6 category winners’ pennants and recording the fastest time of any sculling boat on either day over the course, ASRA had to concede defeat in the end – and the Scottish Junior Club Champions’ Sculling Trophy - to an extremely powerful squad from George Watson’s College , Edinburgh.

Category winners’ pennants went to the following ASRA crews:

Fours’ Head

  • Men’s Junior 18 Coxed Fours: Xander Beeson (Albyn School), Chris Bardas (Harlaw Academy), Scott Lewis (Mearns Academy) & Jakub Zbikowski (Harlaw Academy) coxed by Skye Balance (Cults Academy)
  • Men’s Junior 16 Coxed Fours: Alex Fowler (Albyn School), Joe Ritchie (Aberdeen Grammar School), William Lawson & Will Cooper coxed by Harris Macdonald (All of Albyn School)
  • Women’s Junior 18 Coxed Fours: Abigail Topp (Kemnay Academy), Zoe Beeson (Albyn School), Maisie Aspinall & Sophia Brew (both of Cults Academy), coxed by Julia Zbikowska (Harlaw Academy)
  • Women’s Junior 14 Coxed Quadruple Sculls: Charlotte Arthur (Aberdeen Grammar School), Emily Simpson (Hazlehead Academy), Ella Johnston (Robert Gordon’s College) & Phoebe McCraith (St. Margaret’s School), coxed by Gabrielle Topp (Kemnay Academy)

Sculling Heads

  • Men’s Junior 18 Doubles: Oscar Forbes (Albyn School) & Matthew Hughson (Aberdeen Grammar School)
  • Women’s Junior 16 Doubles : Maisie Aspinall (Cults Academy) & Zoe Beeson (Albyn School)
  • Men’s Junior 18 Coxless Quadruple Sculls : Xander Beeson (Albyn School), Chris Bardas ( Harlaw Academy), Euan Fowler (Albyn School) & Jakub Zbikowski (Harlaw Academy)
  • Men’s J18 Single Sculls: Jakub Zbikowski (Harlaw Academy)
  • Women’s J18 Single Sculls: Abigail Topp (Kemnay Academy)
  • Women’s J14 Single Sculls: Emily Simpson (Hazlehead Academy)
Scottish Junior Sculling Head, Strathclyde Park, 2...
Aberdeen Sprint Regatta 2019

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to